Well, maybe poetry isn’t so bad . . .

Alright, I’ve whined enough about being forced to write poetry.  I spent the weekend working on the writing assignments to turn in today.  Now, I’m anxious to hear the instructor’s comments.  I won’t post the poems here, at least not yet. My kindest critic, my husband, was puzzled by my style choices, so I don’t think my verse is ready for prime time yet.  Perhaps I read the section on end-stopping and enjambment too literally.

Since we’ve started the poetry section, I’ve been paying closer attention to verse in everyday life.  For years, I’ve listened casually to the Writer’s Almanac on our local public radio station. Now I listen intently to the poem read by Garrison Keillor each day, trying to hear what makes it work.  I analyze songs on the radio, searching for imagery and metaphor in the lyrics.  When you really pay attention, you discover there is poetry everywhere–even on Twitter.

This was a free verse assignment from a creative writing class I took two years ago.  The class was offered through a community education program and wasn’t a formal college class.  We didn’t study the creation of poetry or prose, we just wrote.  This poem isn’t complex or heavily revised.   It was just a response to the instructor’s request for a piece of free verse.  I don’t know if it’s any good, but there it is.  It will be interesting to see whether my attempts at poetry progress (or regress) as I explore the creation of verse in my current class.  At least, I will enjoy the journey.

 

Write, she said

Write verse, she said.

What?

Write verse, she said.

But how?

Let your thoughts fly free, she said.

To where?

Fill the air with images, she said.

But I can’t see.

Write, she said.

Why?

Write verse, she said,

For me.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in back to school, creative writing, learning, poetry, prose, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Well, maybe poetry isn’t so bad . . .

  1. Pingback: R&WP Assignment One: One Page Analyze of “A Poem to Be Read at 3AM” | OpenCourseLoft

Leave a Reply

