As I was saying . . .

Johannes Vermeer (Dutch, 1632 - 1675 ), A Lady Writing, c. 1665    National Gallery of Art images.nga.gov

Johannes Vermeer (Dutch, 1632 – 1675 ), A Lady Writing, c. 1665
National Gallery of Art images.nga.gov

 

Almost exactly one month ago, I signed up for the Blogging 101 Challenge. At the time, I suspected that I’d taken on one too many assignments in my life. I succeeded in completing the first week, then  dabbled in the second week’s assignments and then…nothing.

For the rest of September, the daily blogging prompts arrived in my in box. Every day, I stared at the email for a while and then hit “delete.” I couldn’t handle the guilt, the feeling that I ought to be participating. I knew that I didn’t have enough time to do a proper job of responding to the assignments. My writing classes demanded too much of my time, and what was left in the day belonged to my family. So I dropped out.

This doesn’t make me a bad person, right? I can always come back for another challenge when time permits. It’s not like I let someone down. So why do I feel like– well, like a quitter? I blame it on my upbringing by  conscientious parents who insisted that I finish everything I started, from homework to piano lessons to Brussels sprouts. It’s hard to turn off that  voice in my head (which sounds suspiciously like my mother)  telling me not to quit. But over time, I’ve discovered that it’s better to drop the  obligations that just don’t make sense. The biggest challenge for me is to not start them in the first place, but I’m slowly learning.

So … if it’s not too late to change my mind, can I say no to NaNoWriMo ?

 

This entry was posted in Blogging 101, creative writing, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

