Writing 201 Poetry : Animal

Day Four Today’s prompts: Animals, Concrete Poem, Enjambmentmaggie

Maggie the Awesome Aussie
(a random photo unrelated to the poetry assignment)

Polar bears, microbes in your cells, unicorns, your pet hamster, lolcats: find a way to include an animal, today’s word prompt, in your poem.

Writing a poem about an animal is a bit  of a stretch. Please don’t judge me–I do love animals, especially my amazing Australian Shepherd. I just don’t write about animals, domestic or otherwise. I know that many people can spend pages writing odes to their pets or a wild animal. I’m just not one of them.

I could take this prompt and turn it sideways, writing a simile or a metaphor, but would that be cheating? Does poetry have to be literal? Well, in the case of the concrete poem below, yes, it is literal. The wordplay forms an image of the poem’s subject (assuming that I’ve properly formatted the text).

Back to the prompt.  Today’s poetic device continues the focus on the arrangement of words on the page. Enjambment describes when a grammatical sentence stretches from one line of verse to the next. Concrete poetry, also known as shape poetry, is arranging the words on the screen (or the page) so that they create a shape or an image.

I’ve decided to be literal here as well and I’ve managed to sneak in my enjambment assignment.

Hawk

Kneeling in the
garden, I sense
the hawk as
he circles above.
He ignores me.
He is watching for
fat careless
doves.

Here is my attempt at a shape poem-it was actually fun to play with this one.

Flying

As
the wind
lifts the tail
I play out the string
and gently tease the kite
up into the breeze. The tail
of twine and knotted rags waves
and dances on the air above my
head as I wind and unwind the
kite string according to my
whims. I run below as the
kite takes off, rising
higher and loose
in the blue
skies

a

b

o

v

e

t

h

e

e

a

r

t

h

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-201-animal/

This entry was posted in creative writing, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing 201 Poetry : Animal

  1. Ben Huberman says:

    Absolutely lovely — I liked the contrast between the upward motion of the words’ meaning towards the end and the downward motion of the text itself. Well done!

  2. klturn says:

    I love your kite! Great idea! I had a hard time with the shaping, as well.

Leave a Reply

